Riddle Rules Outlaw’s at Anderson Speedway; Trent Among 10 Winners

After a disappointing third place finish in July, Mike Riddle Jr. came to Anderson Speedway determined to score a victory in Outlaw Figure 8 action.
Riddle set fast time in qualifying during the Tom Wood Stock Car Festival and lined up sixth in the 50-lap feature following the inversion.
Cory Harmon jumped into the lead at the start chased by John Conner Jr., Steve Durham, Mike Hadley and Riddle.
On the eighth lap Conner pulled out of competition with a mechanical problem and two laps late the first of three caution flags waved.
Riddle passed Hadley with an outside pass on the back straight on the restart and three laps later got inside of Durham with an inside move entering turn three.
The Greenwood driver took the lead from Harmon on the 19th circuit again using the low groove entering turn three to make the pass.
Hadley and Johnny Hargraves got around Durham over the next 11 laps and on lap 31 Durham slowed with a flat tire, with the crew making a rapid tire change.
When the final caution flag waved on lap 32 for a spin by Bobby Corbin III, Durham recovered to be running sixth.
From that point Durham was the driver on the move eventually passing Hargraves for second with eight laps remaining.
Durham closed on Riddle but was unable to complete the pass with Hargraves, Donnie Garigus III and Corbin rounding out the top five.
Late Models
Martinsville’s Danny Trent made it two Late Model wins in a row by passing early leader Joe Woodring on the 26thlap.
Woodring took the lead at the start with Trent, Scotty Tomasik, Kent Baledge and track champion Jeff Marcum in a heated battle for the second spot.
Marcum moved up to the third spot after seven laps but was never in a position to challenge for the victory. He surrounded that spot on lap 19 when Tomasik made the pass on the front straight.
On lap 26 Woodring went high coming off the fourth corner which allowed the other four front runners to slip past.
Trent went on to win followed by Tomasik, Trent, Baledge and Woodring.
Street Stocks
Indianapolis driver Andrew Teepe inherited the lead when leader Jacob McElfresh tangled with second place running Josh Poore to score the Street Stock victory.
The early lead was taken by visiting Ohio driver Matt Wilson, who gave up the lead to McElfresh following a restart on lap five.
Teepe and Poore moved into the second and third spots six laps later by getting inside of Wilson.
Poore passed Teepe for the second spot on lap 18 and set his sights on McElfresh. The two got together entering turn one with McElfresh coming to a stop against the outside retaining wall and Poore being sent to the tail of the field.
Teepe recorded the win followed by Josh Sage, Derrick Layne, Poore and Wilson.
Hart’s Figure 8
Joe Beaver visited victory lane for the first time in 2017 in Hart’s Auto Figure 8 action when the two front-runners made contact twice and eventually were knocked out of competition.
Andy Sherley led the first lap but after being forced high in turn one that put Jeff Swinford on the point chased by 2017 champion Shawn Cullen and Josh Tharp.
On lap 24 Cullen and Swinford got together bringing out the caution flag. After a trip to the pits for a new tire Cullen rejoined Swinford at the back of the field.
No lap was completed when Swinford and Cullen again traded sheet metal with Cullen coming to rest on the front straight.
From there Swinford deliberately hit Cullen’s car which caused a melee on the front straight.
Beaver got the win followed by Mark Eads Jr. and Andy Sherley
Other racing action:
AJ Stewart recorded his first ever win at Anderson Speedway in the ThunderCar division;
Nick Warner won the Marcum’s Welding Front Wheel Drive feature; Andy Jennings won the Pro Compact Front Wheel Drive race; Chad Cory got his first win in Thunder Roadster action; Zach Miller won for the fourth time in Legends action; and Kody Marsee got his first career win in FastKarts action.