Swanson Powers to Second Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW-GM Win

California driver Kody Swanson claimed his second Pay Less Little 500 victory in three years after a thrilling three-car battle over the final 50 circuits at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.
The race unfolded with 61 laps remaining with Shane Hollingsworth holding a one-lap lead over Swanson and Jacob Wilson, both on fresher rubber. The two drivers were back on the lead lap with 48 laps remaining and were rapidly closing on Hollingsworth.
Swanson made the ultimate race winning move when he got inside of Wilson on lap 470 and took the lead from Hollingsworth on lap 478.
It was the first Little 500 win for long time car owner Gene Nolen.
His two second victory over Wilson is one of the closest in the 70 year history of the Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW-GM.
Wilson, Hollingsworth, Mickey Kempgens and Scotty Hampton rounded out the top five.
Kyle O’Gara was named rookie of the race after starting 15th, but a mechanical problem resulted in a 24th place finish.
It appeared Wilson made the right call by stopping for fresh tires near the halfway mark of the race.
Wilson got back on the lead serial on lap 327 and was turning laps at 3-tenths of a second than Swanson, who had not made his second stop.
The lead change came on lap 382 when Wilson got inside of Swanson in turn three. Shane Hollingsworth who led 60 laps got back on the lead lap the 379th circuit after pitting on lap 303.
When Kody Swanson spun on lap 411 Wilson surrendered the lead to Hollingsworth, who was the only car on the lead lap.
Aaron Pierce dominated the first half of the race but a pit stop on lap 241 while leading cost him four laps to the leader.
Pierce took the lead from pole sitter Davey Hamilton Jr. on lap 27 with an inside pass on the front straight. The two ran at the front of the field until the mandatory pit stop before lap 250.
Hamilton’s race ended on lap 254 with an apparent mechanical problem.
1 4 Kody Swanson Kingsburg, CA Nolen Racing 500
2 7 Jacob  Wilson Crawfordsville Wilson Bros Racing 500
3 20 Shane Hollingsworth Lafayette Nolen Racing 499
4 68 Mickey Kempgens Tampa,  FL PCS Racing, Inc 495
5 59 Scotty Hampton Morristown Jerry Powell 493
6 5 Chris Windom Canton, IL Goacher Racing 492
7 27 Brian Gerster Fishers Davis-Gerster Racing 490
8 7 Caleb Armstrong New Castle Randy Neal 489
9 99 Kenny Schrader Fenton, MO Brad & Tara Armstrong 488
10 14 Shane Cottle Kokomo Contos Racing 488
11 91 Troy De Caire Tampa, FL Lenny Puglio 487
12 18 Travis Welpott Pendleton Travis Welpott 484
13 4 CJ Leary Greenfield Craig & Jessica Forduce 481
14 55 Garrett Green Valricoo, FL Tommy Nichols Ent. LLC 447
15 56 Tyler Roahrig Plymouth Evan Jackson 432
16 26 Aaron Pierce Daleville Sam Pierce Chevrolet 377
17 24 JoJo  Helberg Santa Rosa, CA Izak Spies 308
18 22 Bobby Santos III Franklin, MA DJ Racing 299
19 41 Isaac Chappel Willow Branch Contos Racing 265
20 31 Shane Butler Bushnell, FL Chuck Castor/Buddy Lowther 262
21 87 Ryan Litt London, Ontario Ryan Litt Racing 256
22 1 Davey Hamilton, Jr Indianapolis Davey Hamilton Racing 252
23 8 Chris Neuenschwander New Haven Tony Neuenschwander 229
24 67 Kyle O’Gara Indianapolis SFH Racing Development 226
25 69 Eric Gordon Fortville Hoffman Auto Racing 171
26 28 Johnny Gilbertson Tampa, FL Pop N Sons Racing 153
27 71 Kevin Thomas, Jr Cullman, AL Goacher Racing 125
28 3 Jerry Coons, Jr Tucson, AZ Nolen Racing 108
29 9 John Inman Dover, FL John Inman 48
30 2 Tanner Swanson Kingsburg, CA Mike Bowman 47
31 88 Jimmy McCune Toledo, OH Jim McCune 44
32 74 Tony Main Ridgeville Glen & Virginia Main 42
33 44 Brian Tyler Mt. Pleasant NC Contos Racing, Inc 41