Dossey Scores First MEP Late Model Victory; Jennings Wins Inaugural Pro Compact Feature

Jack Dossey III led the final 12 laps to record his first career victory in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, May 31. 

Dossey set fast time and started sixth in the feature, inheriting the lead when the front runners ran into trouble with a lapped car on lap 23.

Wes Russell Jr. recovered from an early spin to finish second with Kent Baledge, Joe Woodring and Jon Watson rounding out the top five.

Jeff Marcum started from the pole position and races side by side with Wed Russell Jr. for the first five laps before taking a clear lead. Russell spun on lap 10 which put Greg VanAlst into second followed by Billy VanMeter.

Marcum’s bad luck in 2014 continued when Thomas Huffard spun in turn three on lap 23 and collected the race leader. VanAlst’s car offered some front end damage but was able to continue.

It was the second consecutive race that Marcum was involved in an incident while running in the lead.

On the restart VanAlst’s right front tire locked up entering turn three and he made contact with VanMeter, who was able to continue.

Danny Trent’s bid for a fourth consecutive win went up in smoke during his heat race.

Richmond’s Chris Jennings made an inside pass of early leader Nick Warner entering turn one on lap nine to win the first Pro Compact Division race of the season.

Warner finished second followed by Andy Jennings, Ron Phipps and Nick Pollitt.

Robbie Wyman made it two consecutive wins in the NASH-FM Thunder Car division taking the lead on lap 15 when leader Lonny Burton spun coming off the fourth corner.

Burton led the first 14 laps before spinning while in the lead.

Following Wyman to the checkers were Brian Lewis, Nick Warner, Burton and Jimmy Hawkins.

John Robbins led all 25 laps to win the Tri-State Legends feature after a first lap crash knocked out three of the competitors in the front two rows.

Outside pole sitter Evan Finley locked up his brakes entering turn one and collected the cars of Marty Griffin and Zach Miller.

Robbins had to survive a green-white-checker following a spin by Joey Greening in turn two while running fourth.

The Frankton driver was able to hold off a challenge from Cody Anderson and Gered Miller to record the win. Eric Black recovered from a lap nine incident to finish fourth with Adam Sturgill rounding out the top five.

Robbins scored his second win of the night by winning the Thunder Roadsters feature taking the lead from James Edsall III on lap 11.

Edsall had led from lap three but pushed up the track in turn one which allowed Robbins to take the lead. Doug Dugger closed on Robbins but could never get close enough to challenge for the win.

Chris Weddel finished third followed by Edsall and Marty Griffin.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, June 7 with the Pull-A-Part Night at the Races. Featured divisions include Street Stocks, Vore’s Compacts Touring Series, Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8’s along with Central States Mini Cups