Who Will Claim the Tony Elliott Classic Crown?

Jack Kessler Photo

ANDERSON – Which Auto Value Bumper to Bumper 500 Sprint Car Tour driver will add his name to the list of Tony Elliott Classic winners?

Anderson Speedway is hosting five divisions on the final weekend of racing this Saturday sponsored by CB Fabricating.

Elliott is remembered as the one driver that should have won the Lucas Oil Little 500, but was never able to pull into the Peterman Brothers victory lane.

This is the eighth year for the Classic with four different drivers having recorded victories.

Bobby Santos III scored his second Elliott Classic victory last year. Tyler Roahrig has three wins with Aaron Pierce and Kody Swanson both recording victories.

With two races remaining in the season, Roahrig holds a slim three-point margin over defending 500 Sprint Car Tour champion Swanson with Kyle O’Gara still in the hunt.

Both O’Gara and Swanson have recorded victories this year at Anderson Speedway.

The Kenyon Midget Series wraps up the second year of operations under the leadership of Brad Hayes.

Sophomore competitor Kyle Ford is poised to win the championship with defending champion Dameron Taylor still having a mathematical shot at the title.

Three drivers are in a heated battle for Redline Ace Rookie of the Year honors.

Cash Wyke has a 27-point lead over Evan Hammond with Kyle Sheard, who missed the opening race of the season, still within reach of the honors.

The racing program includes the Legends, Thunder Roadsters and Midwest Champ Carts all in action.

Qualifying is set for 1:30 p.m. and racing at 3 p.m.

Tickets are $16 for adults, $5 for kids aged 6-12, and free for all kids 5 and under.

– Story By Ken De La Bastide