Turkey Bash Victories to Kimmel, Tharp, Pope, Pritchett and Phipps

By Ken de la Bastide

Southern Indiana veteran Will Kimmel led all 40 laps, turning back a challenge from Josh Poore to win the Street Stock feature on Saturday.

Race fans were greeted by sunny skies and seasonable temperatures on McGowan Insurance Turkey Bash racing at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Kimmel, an ARCA Series veteran, started from the outside of the front row and took the lead at the start. He was followed by Danny Adams and Josh Poore.

On lap six Poore, a multi-time winner at Anderson Speedway got inside of Adams coming off the second corner. Adams bounced off the front straight wall at the same time Larry Hahn slowed bringing out the lone caution flag.

Kimmel choose the outside line on the restart and was able to maintain the lead over Poore to record the win with Willy DeHart coming home in third.

Rickie Tharp took the lead in the NASH-FM Thunder Car feature on lap 14 when Ricky Martin, who led from the start, slowed suddenly.

The caution flag waved on lap 18 when Paul Glentzer spun on the back straight. Tharp was able to maintain the point on the restart with Austin Russell running a close second with Rodney Milliner in third.

Milliner slowed on lap 23 while running third, giving the position to Martin, who had rejoined the field.

Tharp ended the 2014 season with the victory followed by Russell and Martin.

Once Ethan Pope cleared traffic he closed on early race leader Rick Puckett, taking the lead on lap 12 with an outside pass coming off the second corner in Front Wheel Drive Oval action.

There was one restart and Pope was able to maintain the lead over Puckett, driving to a dominating win.

Larry Hughes passed Puckett for third with a last lap move using the outside line in turn three. Puckett finished fourth followed by Adam Lee.

Ronnie Phipps took the lead on a restart then went on to lead the final 19 laps to win the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature.

Phipps was unable to pull away from Rick Puckett who stayed within striking distance of the leader.

Puckett attempted to slip inside of Phipps several times entering turn one, but ran out of racing room. Kevin Henson closed on the two leaders, waiting for someone to make a mistake. His day ended on lap 16.

Phipps recorded the victory followed by Puckett and Trevin Henson.

Jarred Pritchett closed on the two leaders steadily in the Mini-Cup feature, passing Matt Kemp with an inside move on lap 23.

Kemp was able to use a lapped car to take second place from Elliott Pritchett on lap 27. Kyle Trinkline and Jay Woolsey rounded out the top five.