Trent, Poore Three Peat at Anderson Speedway; Hoppes, Wyman and Warner Score Wins

Danny Trent won his third consecutive McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway working his way from the seventh starting position.

Trent took over the lead when leader Jeff Marcum and second place running Billy VanMeter spun on the front straight on a restart during the Spring Championship racing card.

On the lap 21 restart Trent got the jump on Lambert with an outside pass entering turn three.

Greg VanAlst, who started fifth in the field, got inside of Lambert on lap 22. Trent kept VanAlst at bay on a final restart with 13 laps remaining to win by 7-tenths of a second.

Lambert finished third followed by VanMeter and Marcum, who passed Joe Woodring on the final lap.

Anderson’s Josh Poore continued his dominance in the Street Stock division visiting the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance winner’s circle for the third time in 2014.

In all three appearances of the division Poore has set fast time and then gone on to win the feature event.

Poore was chased in the early stages of the 40-lap feature by defending track champion Dustin Burge, but started to open the gap at the mid-point.

Following Poore and Burge to the checkered flag were James Kirby, Andrew Cook and Joe Pulley.

Robbie Wyman became the fourth different feature winner in NASH-FM Thunder Car action when early leader Curtis Chapman got blocked by lapped traffic.

Chapman took the lead at the start with Wyman glued to his rear bumper for the first 20 laps. Entering turn three on lap 21 Chapman decided to take the low line and got trapped behind a slower car which allowed Wyman to take the lead.

Chapman kept the pressure on Wyman but was unable to make the pass. Jeff Marcum finished third followed by Trent Gossar and Lonny Burton.

Dylan Hoppes recorded his first ever Front Wheel Drive Oval feature when Jeff Williams car failed technical inspection.

Williams took advantage of lapped traffic to pass Ryan Claborn on lap 14 coming off the fourth corner to win his first Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature of the year.

Claborn took the lead from early leader Jerry Dane on lap ten with an outside pass entering turn one and pulled away to a comfortable lead when he encountered slower traffic.

Hoppes was followed by Dane, Jared Keller, Brandon Lee Cook and David Powell.

Nick Warner made it a perfect four for four in Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 action taking the lead from Kevin Henson with a perfectly timed pass in the cross-over.

Henson slowed for the car of Elliott McKinney which allowed Warner to streak past and into the lead.

Henson finished second followed by Randy Owen, McKinney and Kamden Creek.

Next week is Pay Less Little 500 week at Anderson Speedway. On Wednesday, May 21, the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series will complete in the Must See Racing 60 presented by Sam Pierce Chevrolet. The Mel Kenyon Midgets will also be part of the Wednesday event. 

On Thursday, May 22, the 66th Pay Less Little 500 Pole Day will take place with the field set with round 2 qualifications on Friday. The 66th Pay Less Little 500 will roll off on Saturday Night at 8 p.m.