Spring Championships Featured on Saturday

Racing returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, May 17 with Spring Championships showcasing five divisions and 155 laps of featuring racing. McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, Street Stocks, NASH FM ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drives on the Oval & Figure 8 will all be in action on Saturday.

Jack Dossey lll leads the MEP Late Models point standings with a 73 point advantage over new track record holder Billy Van Meter. The remainder of the top five includes Kent Baledge, Billy Van Meter and Jon Watson. Two feature wins have been claimed by Danny Trent with Chris Hacker also taking a main event victory. 

Former multi-time track champion Josh Poore has swept the Street Stocks races this year and sits atop the point standings. Dustin Burge ranks in second spot with James Kirby in third. Jason Shipp and Jeff Hopkins fill out the top five performers. 

Defending NASH FM ThunderCar Champion Curtis Chapman continues to pace the division with a 14 point margin over Robbie Wyman. Third is Lonny Burton with Austin Russell and Brian Lewis completing the top five. Feature winners this season include Chapman, Jeff Marcum and most recently Trent Gossar. 

After winning three of the initial five events, Jerry Dane has placed himself in good shape for the Front Wheel Drive Oval championship. Other early season contenders include Jared Keller, Brandon Cook, Billy Hooten and Dylan Hoppes. In addition to Dane, Kevin Harmon and Adam Lee have visited the winner’s circle. 

In the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, Randy Owen leads Kamden Creek by 29 makers. Third is Randy Hoppes with Brian McKinney and Elliott McKinney rounding out the top five. Former division champion Nick Warner has won all three features this season. 

On Saturday, May 17, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.