Three to enter Little 500 Hall of Fame

A former Little 500 competitor, current competitor, and former official are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 28, part of Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW-GM Week. The Class of 2016 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the Little 500.

The “Class of 2016” includes: Shane Cottle, Cy Fairchild, and Becky Robbins.

Shane Cottle, of Kokomo, IN, Has made 10 starts as a driver to date; one win (2008) with two top five finishes; Led three races for 291 laps; has completed 2,778 total laps.

Cy Fairchild, of Muskegon, MI, is a former driver with 4 starts from 1961-68; drove in relief of Darl Harrison for co-win in 1967. Led 70 laps in 1967 event before retiring with mechanical issues; Led another 70 laps in relief of Harrison in the same race en-route to the co-win.

Becky Robbins, of Pendleton, IN, is a former track owner along with her husband Rex and several other partners from 1977 through early 1990’s; handled day-to-day office operations as well as all book keeping and registration; Countless other behind-the-scenes work relating to Little 500 and ASA which sanctioned the race until 1997. Robbins passed away in 2010.

The 27th annual Little 500 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place at Anderson Speedway on Saturday afternoon May 28. Former Little 500 and Indy 500 competitor Tom Bigelow will serve as guest speaker. Seating is limited at this year’s luncheon, so advance tickets will be the only way to guarantee a seat. Please order your tickets as soon as possible. Tickets are $12 each and can be purchased by sending a check or money order to: Little 500 Hall of Fame, 5027 Pearl St., Anderson, IN 46013. Tickets can also be purchased at the Anderson Speedway Box office. For more information please call (765) 642-0206 or (765) 278-8231.

The Little 500 Hall of Fame is dedicated to promoting the history and heritage of the Little 500. Your support has helped us honor the wonderful people and traditions of the greatest sprint car race in the world. We are also grateful to our friends at Anderson Speedway, IMPACT Racing, the Little 500 Festival, and Big Joe’s Event Services.