National Crown, Street Stocks Top Weekend Racing

The 67th running of the National Crown and the Champion Racing Association Street Stocks top Edgewater Woods Alzheimer’s Aware night at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Current Hart’s Figure-8 point leader Jeff Swinford will be seeking his second win in the National Crown, the longest continuous stock car race in the United States.

Former Anderson competitor Gene Huston won the National Crown a record six times.
Other former winners in the National Crown expected to be in competition include Curtis Chapman the winner in 2001 and 2010 and 2008 champion Nick Warner.

Chapman has won two of the last three Hart’s Auto Figure-8 features. Swinford and Shawn Cullen also have two races this year.

The CRA Street Stocks will be competing in a 75-lap feature with Josh Poore and Jason Atkinson scoring wins this year at Anderson Speedway.

Poore and Mason Keller have both scored feature wins in Street Stock competition at the local track.

The Thunder Cars will be in action where Marklesville’s Randy Hoppes has recorded four consecutive wins.

Qualifying is set for 6:30 p.m. with the racing action starting at 8 p.m.

Adult tickets are priced at $12, children between the ages of 6 and 12 ticket price is $4.

Wear a purple shirt and get $1 off the price of an adult ticket.