Miller Captures 2nd Fritz/Dietzen Memorial at Anderson

Zach Miller led sweep of drivers from the Buckeye State as captured the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial race Saturday at Anderson Speedway.
Miller won the biggest race of the season for the Legends drivers for a second consecutive year leading all 50 laps to record his fourth win of the season.
For the entire distance Miller was first pressed by Adam Sturgill and his brother, Ryan.
The first half of the race was slowed by four caution flags all for spins. The most important incident took place on lap 36 involving second place running Sturgill and the leader.
Sturgill stayed glued to the rear bumper of Zach Miller for the first 35 laps and kept waiting for the leader so surrender the low groove.
On the 36th circuit, Sturgill got a run entering turn one and was inching his way to the inside of Miller’s car coming off the second corner. Unfortunately for Stugill he made contact with Miller’s car and spun on the back straight.
That allowed Ryan Miller to try and keep his brother from repeating as the Fritz/Dietzen Memorial winner.
The two Miller’s ran nose to tail with Zach going on to win by less than two-tenths of a second over Ryan Miller with Gerad Miller coming home in third. Dave Osborn finished fourth followed by Sturgill.
McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models
Morristown driver Jeff Marcum completed the clean sweep in McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model competition.
Marcum set fast time during qualifying, won the heat race and then went on to score his fourth feature win of the year.
Selma’s Brian Morrow grabbed the lead at the start from the pole position chased by Marcum, Kent Carson, Danny Trent and Tyler Marsh.
With Carson dropping back through the field, Marcum used the outside line coming off the second corner on lap five to pass Morrow for the point.
Trent and Greg VanAlst passed Morrow on laps 12 and 13 with identical moves in the high line entering turn one.
Marcum won by 5.4-seconds over Trent and VanAlst with Morrow and Marsh rounding out the top five.
Thunder Cars
Jerry Swinford Jr. held off his brother Jeff to win the Thunder Car feature and pad his point lead over Randy Hoppes.
The two Swinfords moved to the front at the start of the race chased by Bruce McFall, Hoppes and Frankie Oakes.
Hoppes got inside of McFall on the ninth circuit coming off the fourth corner. The running order remained unchanged until lap 28 when Oakes spun coming off the second corner after contact with the car of Tyler DeHart.
On the IvyTech restart Hoppes slowed with a flat tire, knocking him out of contention.
Jerry Swinford won by two-tenths of a second over Jeff Swinford with McFall coming home in third.
Marcum Welding Pro Compacts
Anderson driver Jeff Williams passed Ron Phipps on the ninth lap when an inside move entering turn three to win for the fourth time this season.
Williams driving a car prepared by Kevin Harmon set quick time during qualifications, won the heat race and the feature event, the first clean sweep in the division in 2016.
Phipps finished second followed by Derek Morris, Kyle Allmond and Matt Tharp.