Magee Claims Best Way Disposal 100; Cullen, Miller Continue Winning Way

Carthage driver Johnny Magee returned to the winner’s circle at Anderson Speedway leading the final 37 laps of the Best Way Disposal 100 for the Thunder Car Division.
The battle for the championship of the division was thrown into upheaval with two of the three contenders suffering mechanical problems on Saturday.
Magee inherited the lead when front runners Ronnie Rose and Jeremy Threet tangled in turn four on a restart with both drivers being relegated to the tail of the field.
Magee started eighth in the field cracking into the top ten by lap 17. He maintained fourth place in the running order before taking the lead.
Indianapolis driver Dale Harper making his first career start on the high banked quarter-mile oval pressed Magee until the checkered flag waved but was unable to claim the top spot. Threet and Rose recovered to finish third and fourth with Alexandria’s Tyler DeHart coming home in fifth.
Earl Adams led the first 23 laps before being passed by Rose on lap 24. Adams remained close to Rose until on lap 63 his night came to an end with a transmission problem.
The point standings changed significantly going into the final point race of the season next Saturday.
Entering the race Brad Cain led Adams and Threet by 11 points. Cain finished tenth after hitting the turn two wall and Adams was credited with an eighth place finish.
Threet took over the top spot with this third place run.
Hart’s Auto Figure 8
Shawn Cullen took another big step toward claiming the season championship with a dominating performance to record his sixth consecutive feature win.
Cullen took advantage of a tangle between Curtis Chapman and Jeff Swinford before a lap was completed that allowed him to start on the front row.
He led all 25 laps to extend his point lead over Joe Beaver, who finished second. Swinford, Chapman and Nick Warner rounded out the top five.
It was “Miller time” in Legends division as the brother team of Zack and Ryan Miller overwhelmed the competition.
Zack Miller won for the third time at Anderson Speedway taking the lead when early leader Caleb Heady spun in turn four after contact with John Robbins.
Zack Miller pulled away from the field with only his brother Ryan able to stay close during the feature event. Heady would finish third followed by Robbins and Marty Griffin.
Ryan Miller set fast time during qualifications with Zack also claiming a heat win.
In other racing:
Chris Peters won the Indy Champ Karts feature and claimed the season championship when Karl Schildback finished outside the top five.
Peters took the lead with drafting help from John Ginder with six laps remaining with a pass of Rodd Pickett entering turn three.
Scott Carson finished third followed by Rodd and Todd Pickett.
Connor Kosowski scored his first ever win at Anderson Speedway in CSR Super Cup competition chased by Mike Mucha and Steve Naples.