Late Race Pass Propels Bret Miles Jr. to CRA Street Stock 200 Victory

When opportunity knocked, Muncie driver Bret Miles Jr. opened the door to make a bold pass with two laps remaining to capture the CRA Street Stock 200 on Saturday, June 21 at Anderson Speedway.

Miles used the high line entering turn three to rocket past both race leader Jimmy Kirby and Josh Poore to emerge out of turn four with the lead.

With Miles in the lead Kirby spun coming off the fourth corner on lap 199 which gave second place to Poore with Jason Atkinson coming home in fourth.

For most of the second half of the race Kirby and Poore jostled for position running nose to tail. 

Poore took the lead from Miles on the lap 101 restart with Kirby moving up to third on lap 108. Miles who led 97 of the first 100 laps dropped back to sixth in the early stages of the second half of the race.

With 28 laps remaining Miles used the outside line to get around Calvin Parham for third and set his sights on the two leaders. At times Miles was turning laps three-tenths of a lap faster than Kirby and Poore.

A caution flag on lap 195 for a spin by Fred Hopkins turn two, set up the final five lap sprint for the win.

With his third place finish Atkinson won the CRA Street Stock Triple Crown for 200-lap races in Ohio, Kentucky and the closing event at Anderson Speedway.

Robbie Wyman made it three consecutive wins in NASH FM ThunderCar action taking the lead from Lonnie Burton just past the halfway mark.

Curtis Chapman took the early lead but Wyman was able to take the top spot on lap 11 with the help of a lapped car by getting inside in turn one. But a lap later Chapman made contact with Wyman in turn four, causing him to spin. Chapman was disqualified for rough driving and Wyman restarted on the tail.

Wyman was able to pass Burton with an outside move on the front straight on lap 18 for the victory. Burton finished second followed by Dylan Hoppes, Brian Lewis and Jimmy Hawkins.

Jerry Dane returned to the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance Winner’s Circle after a three-week absence to win his fourth Front Wheel Drive Oval feature of the season.

Dane grabbed the lead from the fourth starting spot chased the entire distance by Billy Hooten. Jeff Williams and Marshall Clark battled side by side for the third spot over the final five laps with Jared Keller coming home fifth.

Frankton’s John Robbins recorded his second feature win in Thunder Roadsters action by taking the lead from Doug Dugger on lap eight.

Brad Kendle took the early lead but was passed on the outside by Dugger on the backstraight. Kendle then spun into the infield which allowed Robbins to move up to the second spot. Three laps later Robbins got inside of Dugger entering turn three to take the point.

From there Robbins was able to maintain about a three-car length lead over Dugger to record the victory followed by Marty Griffin, David Lobbia and Mark Dietzen.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, June 28 with MEP Late Models, Kenyon Midgets, Legends, Front Wheel Drives Figure 8 and Pro Compacts.