Kirby Captures First Street Stock Win

By Ken de la Bastide

After losing the opening night race of the season with two laps remaining, Jimmy Kirby bounced back to lead the entire distance to capture his first Street Stock Division win of 2015 at Anderson Speedway.

Kirby took the lead following a complete restart when the front-runners attempted to go three-wide in turn one, sending Tyler Marsh into the outside retaining wall in turn two.

Calvin Parham coming off the win in the season opener moved into the second spot with an inside pass of James Kirby on lap 12 and Josh Poore used a similar move three laps later.

Parham was pressed to the finish by fast qualifier Poore, who attempted to sneak inside to secure the second spot, but Parham maintained his racing line to the finish.

James Kirby and Danny Adams claimed fifth with a last lap pass of Josh Myers.

Kirby, driving the USA Tire Chevrolet and a former Street Stock champion, said the win was about time in coming.

“The last time out Calvin (Parham) got me at the end,” he said.

Andrew Cook led the entire distance to win the fast heat for the division by less than two-tenths of a second over Jimmy Kirby with Poore finishing a close third.

In the second heat race Jeff Hopkins scored the victory with lots of action taking place back in the pack.
Danny Adams made a late charge to finish second followed by Cory Adams, Jaren Crabtree and Travis Brown.

During qualifications Poore set a new track record turning a lap at 13.734 seconds, besting the mark he set in 2011 of 13.746-seconds.