Dossey Wins Wild One; Kirby and Hoppes Also Score Victories

Jack Dossey III had an interesting night at Anderson Speedway, but when the night was over and the dust settled he found himself back in victory lane.

Dossey III took the lead on the seventh lap with an inside pass of early leader Jason Atkinson on the front straight following a restart.

Dossey appeared to have lost a chance for the win with ten laps remaining after contact with Greg VanAlst in turn two. The two front-runners restarted in fifth and sixth.

Dossey worked his way back to second when leader Tony Brutti spun in turn one after contact on the front straight with just two laps remaining.

That put Dossey back on the point for a two-lap shoot-out and he was able to pull away from Jason Atkinson and JP Crabtree.

It was a race of attrition with only six of the 16 cars that started the 75-lap feature were running at the end. The race was slowed by 11 caution periods.

After losing the opening night race of the season with two laps remaining, Jimmy Kirby led the entire distance to capture his first Street Stock Division win of 2015.

Kirby took the lead following a complete restart when the front-runners attempted to go three-wide in turn one, sending Tyler Marsh into the outside retaining wall in turn two.

Calvin Parham coming off the win in the second opener moved into the second spot with an inside pass of James Kirby on lap 12 and Josh Poore used a similar move three laps later.

Parham was able to hold off fast qualifier Poore to finish second followed by James Kirby and Danny Adams claimed fifth with a last lap pass of Josh Myers.

Randy Hoppes took the lead from early leader Kevin Harmon on a restart on lap nine and went on to record his first win of the season in the Marcum Welding Pro Compact Division.

Hoppes survived a challenge from fast qualifier Adam Lee on lap 12. Lee who has two wins this year than pulled into the infield with a mechanical problem.

Hoppes maintained a comfortable lead over second place running Matt Tharp for the victory. Billy Hooten, Ron Phipps and Marshal Clark rounded out the top five.