Anderson Speedway Hosts Annual Little 500 Press Conference

Anderson Speedway Hosts Annual Little 500 Press Conference

On Wednesday, April 26th, just 31 days out from the 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW, Anderson Speedway officials conducted their annual Little 500 press conference. The press conference marks the official beginning of Little 500 month and the start of the Little 500 Festival, held for 35 consecutive years to raise funds for Madison County charities. Heading into its 36th year, the Little 500 Festival has raised over $4 million for charity.

75th Annual Little 500 Program Cover featuring the three winningest drivers in Little 500 History.

Multiple guest speakers were in attendance including the Mayor of Anderson, Indiana Thomas Broderick Jr., nine time Little 500 winner Eric Gordon, two time and defending Little 500 winner Tyler Roahrig, Little 500 Champions Trophy sponsor and owner of Tin Plate Fine Foods & Spirits in Elwood, Indiana, Patrick Rice, and members of the Little 500 Festival Committee announced the 2023 Little 500 Festival Queen and Princess.

The press conference, traditionally held at Anderson Speedway, was held at the Union Building in downtown Anderson, Indiana for the second consecutive year. Home to many local businesses, including the Madison County Chamber of Commerce, the Union Building provided a central location removed from the elements to play host to this event. Open to the public, an impressive crowd came to show their support of the Little 500 and the Little 500 Festival. Patrons were able to take pictures with the Little 500 trophies, talk with Anderson Speedway staff/Little 500 drivers, and meet the Little 500 Festival Queen and Princess.

Queen Adayna Key (Left) and Princess Emma Holmes (Right)

Adayna Key from Frankton, Indiana was crowned as Little 500 Queen and Emma Holmes from Lapel, Indiana was named Little 500 Festival Princess. The two will be present at all Little 500 Festival events during the month of May, including the 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW.  Anderson Speedway President, Rick Dawson, along with Eric Gordon, helped to unveil a special contribution to the Little 500 to celebrate its 75th year. Joey Perry, a freelance artist from Oklahoma, was commissioned to create a special cover for this year’s Little 500 program. The program cover encompasses the history of the great event with the three winningest drivers lined up in the famous three-wide formation that has left fans in awe since 1949. Fans can purchase programs on the day of the event and a limited number of posters featuring Perry’s artwork will also be for sale in the Anderson Speedway novelty stand on race day.

The 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW will be held on Saturday, May 27th at 8:00pm. Tickets for the event are available now and are reserved seating only. All tickets are $45 and can be purchased by calling Anderson Speedway Monday through Friday from 10am-4pm. The event will also be streamed live via MAVTV on Floracing. For more information on the Little 500, visit us at and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.