2014 Little 500 Hall of Fame Class Revealed, Tickets Available for Hall of Fame Luncheon on May 24

Two well-known Little 500 competitors, an official, and car sponsor are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 24, part of Pay Less Little 500 Week. The Class of 2014 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the Little 500.

From the Historic Era (1949-1975) are the late Pete Allen and Butch Brooks. From the Modern Era come Dave Steele and the late Tom Stenger.

Allen, of Dayton, Ohio, was a driver who competed in seven Little 500’s from 1950-1957. He was the runner-up in 1954 and ’55. He led a total of three races for 182 laps.

Brooks, of Anderson, Ind., was the official starter and flagman of the event from the 1960’s to 1976. Brooks also assisted then tack owner Joe Helpling in numerous other capacities.

Steele, of Tampa, Florida, is a driver who has made fourteen Little 500 starts from 1992-2009. He won the event in 1996 and 2009. He captured five pole positions, eight top five finishes, and eight top 10s. Steele led nine races for a total of 1,589 laps while completing 5,993 total laps.

Stenger, of Dayton, Ohio, was a long-time car sponsor involved with the winning cars of Bob Frey in 1980,’87, and ’88. Stenger sponsored cars also claimed second-place finished in 1985 and 1986.

The 25th annual Little 500 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will take place at Anderson Speedway on Saturday afternoon May 24. Seating is limited at this year’s luncheon, so advance tickets will be the only way to guarantee a seat. Please order your tickets as soon as possible by calling (765) 288-4587.