Warner Continues Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 Dominance

By Ken de la Bastide

Domination is the only way to describe Nick Warner’s performance in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division in 2014.

For the seventh time in eight races this season Warner claimed victory in the feature event and for the third time this year swept the division on Murat Shrine Night at Anderson Speedway.

Warner took the lead from Jeff Williams on lap six with an inside move coming off the fourth corner and was never seriously challenged for the win, even though there was one restart.

His biggest concern was missing the car of Jeremy Brown in the cross-over as the two came close to making contact several times.

Williams grabbed the early lead with Warner working his way patiently to the front after running fifth after the opening circuit.

Randy Owens made an outside pass of Williams on lap eight on the back straight to claim the second spot. Williams, Elliott McKinney and Brian McKinney rounded out the top five.

Warner took the lead in the heat race on the final lap when Kamden Creek, who led from the drop of the green flag, was black-flagged for running quicker than his qualifying time.

Warner finished ahead of Trevon Henson, Owens, Williams and Brian McKinney.

During qualifications Warner turned a lap at 20.05-seconds which was good enough to beat Owens’ time of 20.312-seconds and the lap posted by Williams of 20.667-seconds.