Burge Scores CRA Street Stock Victory; Hooten, Goodin Get First Feature Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

Dustin Burge inherited the lead with 15 laps remaining and went on to win his first Champion Racing Association Street Stock feature of the year at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 2.

Burge, the defending series champion, had to survive two restarts to record the victory on Murat Shrine Night by first holding off Jason Atkinson and then Calvin Parham.

Throughout the 75-lap event there was tight racing for positions in the top ten in a race that was only slowed three times by the caution flag.

Brandon Mefford’s strong run in the CRA Street Stock 75 came to an end on lap 60 when Josh Poore made contact and took the race leader into the turn three wall.

Mefford led from the start and held off Poore for 25 laps as the front four cars ran nose to tail for position. The first caution flag waved on lap 3 when Brian Stocker spun in turn two.

On the restart Poore lost a position to Dustin Burge on the back straight. Poore with an obvious mechanical problem with his car dropped back through the field before making contact with Mefford.

Following Burge to the checkers were Parham, Atkinson, Andrew Cook and James Kirby III.

Billy Hooten took the lead from Marshall Clark with an outside move on the back straight and went on to record his first career feature win in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

Once in the lead Hooten was not challenged for the point with Clark holding down the second spot with Austin McKinney claiming third following a spirited battle with Jared Keller and JD Blankenship rounding out the top five.

It was a clean sweep for Angie Goodin in the Indy Faskarts first setting fast time, winning her heat race and then scoring her first feature win of the season.

Goodin battled in a pack of seven carts taking the lead on lap five and then holding off Kenny Smith on a restart to record the victory.

Smith finished second followed by Goodin’s son Hunter, her husband, Michael and Dave Reynolds.

Chris Teepe led all 20 laps to record his first Pro Compact feature of the year with fast qualifier Kevin Harmon finishing second with Ron Phipps rounding out the top three.

Nick Warner made in seven wins in eight events for the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division, taking the lead from Jeff Williams with an inside move on the back straight.

For Warner it was the third time in 2014 that he set fast time in the division, captured the heat and feature races.

On Saturday, August 2, racing action resumes with 65th National Crown featuring the WOFS Outlaw Figure 8. Vore’s Compact Touring Series, Front Wheel Drives Figure 8 and Thunder Roadsters will also be in action.