Winged Sprint Cars Return on Saturday Night

Photo By David Sink

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 16 with the second appearance from the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series. The NASH FM ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drives Oval divisions will also be part of the racing program.

The Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series (MSRXSS) is preparing for its second of three visits to the high-banks of Anderson Speedway. A 50-lap feature is set to highlight the night’s racing action.

A stout group of drivers is expected for this event including Troy DeCaire, Aaron Pierce, Jimmy McCune, Jacob Wilson, Ryan Litt, and Brian Gerster among others.

The 2014 Must See Racing season is shaking up to be one of the most competitive is series history to date. Through eight races, there have been six different feature winners this season that started at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Fla. back in April.

Brian Gerster enters the Anderson event as the series point’s leader with an eight point advantage over Jimmy McCune.

Saturday’s event will also serve as a tune-up for the August 30, MoFab Labor Day 150 presented by Hoosier Park Racing & Casino for the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series. This new event will be the longest race for winged pavement sprint cars in the entire country. Drivers from all across the Midwest are expected to compete.

Troy DeCaire led wire-to wire to capture the Must See Racing 60 presented by Sam Pierce Chevrolet on May 21 when the MSRXSS last raced at Anderson Speedway.

In the NASH FM ThunderCars, Robbie Wyman holds a slim 10 point advantage over Curtis Chapman. After eight events, Wyman has produced four feature victories and eight top-10 finishes while Chapman has two wins and eight top 10s. Third is Lonny Burton with Austin Russell and Jimmy Hawkins rounding out the top five.

The Jim Warner owned No. 09 driven by Jerry Dane and Josh Tharp paces the Front Wheel Drive Oval division after posting five feature wins and 11 top-10 finishes in 11 events. Second is Jared Keller with most recent winner Billy Hooten ranking third in the point standings. The top five performers are filled out by Dylan Hoppes and Marshall Clark.

On Saturday, August 16, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.