Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman $2000 to Win 100 lap Special up Next at Anderson Speedway

Salem, IN (July 22, 2020) – The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS will be back in action this Saturday at Anderson Speedway, located in Anderson, Indiana, for the second of four scheduled series events at the fast ¼ mile track. Saturday’s special event for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman will be 100 laps and will pay the winner $2,000. The event will feature many of the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman stars and the best of the Anderson Speedway MEP Late Models.

After having several events postponed or canceled because of the COVID 19 pandemic, the series began its 2020 season on June 6th at Anderson Speedway. The season opener saw one of the bigger Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman fields in recent memory with a strong field of 26 cars taking the green flag. A strong group of Northeast Indiana drivers were a big part of the field, two of which battled late for the race win. It was veteran Tommy Cook taking the win while leading the most laps, but he had to earn it with 17-year-old Tanner Jack breathing down his neck for the final 15 laps.  Jack got to Cook’s rear bumper several times in the last 10 laps, but the multi-time Angola and Baer Field track champion held off the teenager in the closing laps to get the win.

Cook comes into Saturday’s event as the series point’s leader. Series leading rookie Tanner Jack is in second place, three points behind Cook. Austin Coe is in third place, three points behind Jack. Tony Dager is in fourth place, two points behind Coe. Rookie Chris Jennings is in fifth place, he is two points behind Dager.

Multi-time Anderson Speedway MEP Late Models Champion and CRA Late Model Sportsman Anderson event winner Jeff Marcum tops the list of entries for Saturday’s race. Jack, Coe and Chris Jennings are also entered, topping the list of Championship seeking teams. Other top series entries include former series 2007 series Champion Billy Hutson, 2018 series Champion Tony Brutti, 2018 series Rookie of the Year Chris Shannon, 2018 Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stock Champion James Kirby III, Cassten Everidge, rookie Andy Jennings, and Anderson Speedway MEP Late Models competitors Danny Adams, Mike Sargeant and Kevin Gross.

2014 and 2019 JEGS/CRA All-Star Tour Champion Dan Leeck has filed an entry for Saturday’s race, which will be his Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman debut. Leeck’s most recent race with CRA was the Redbud 400 on July 13th at Anderson Speedway with the ARCA/CRA Super Series, were he finished in ninth place.

Pit Gates open on Saturday at 3:30pm. The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman will have two practice sessions starting at 5pm. Allstar Performance Qualifying is set to begin at 6:30pm. The race program will begin at 8pm and will include the 100-lap special for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS. Also racing Saturday will be the Anderson Speedway Ford Crown Vics and FWD Figure 8’s, along with the CSR Super Cups.

More event and track information can be found at www.andersonspeedway.com.

Information on all the CRA Series is available at www.cra-racing.com