Tomasik Grabs Anderson Speedway Win

By Ken de la Bastide

ANDERSON, Ind. (April 4, 2015) – Scott Tomasik used a bump and run move coming off the second corner with two laps remaining to win the season opening feature for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models at Anderson Speedway.

Tomasik started seventh in the starting field and ran in the top five for the entire 35 laps moving up to second on lap 28 when Kent Baledge and Jared Thomas made contact in turn three while battling for third.

Tomasik attempted to pass Rose on the outside with five laps remaining. On lap 34 he tapped Rose entering turn two, Rose got loose and fell back to third as J.P. Crabtree also made the pass on the back straight.

Rose came home third followed by Jason Neal and Thomas.

It was Tomasik’s first career win at Anderson Speedway.

Jeff Marcum, helped by the invert of eight for the feature race, led the first seven laps until Danny Trent got inside entering turn one. The two traded paint with Trent taking the lead and Marcum dropped back with a flat tire.

On the restart Rose driving for new sponsor Interstate Auto Auction used the outside groove to take the lead from Trent with Dossey getting around Scott Tomasik on the front straight.

Trent’s run for the win ended on lap 20 when his car appeared to experience an engine problem smoking entering the second corner. Dossey suffered a flat right front cause by a broken sway bar.

Josh Dietz used an inside move to pass early leader John Robbins entering turn three on lap seven.

The 2014 Kentucky State Champion then maintained his racing line to hold off fast qualifier Alec Webb by less than two-tenths of a second. Cody Anderson kept Zack Miller at bay to finish third and Robbins came home in fifth.

It was a perfect night for Adam Lee in the Marcum Welding Pro Compact as he set fast time, won his heat race and dominated the feature for his first ever victory at Anderson Speedway.

Lee also set fast time for the first time and won his initial career heat race.

The New Castle driver took the lead from Brandon Cook on lap four with an inside pass on the front straight. No one was able to challenge Lee, except on the four restarts.

Cook came back to finish second with Andy Jennings, Matt Tharp and Ryan Claborn battling for the third through fifth positions.

Doug Dugger used the inside line to pass early leader Tony Holden entering the third turn and went on to open the season with the feature win in the Thunder Roadster Division.

John Robbins got around Holden on the next lap and was able to maintain close contact with Dugger actually making a run on the inside with five laps remaining.
Dugger was able to open a car length lead over Robbins for the victory. Holden finished third followed by Mark Dietzen and Marty Griffin.