Tomasik Captures CRA Late Model Sportsman Show; Atkinson, O’Gara Score Wins

Scott Tomasik remained perfect at Anderson Speedway winning the CRA Late Model Sportsman 75 on Saturday.

Tomasik used the high groove to slice his way to the front after starting seventh in the feature on Military Appreciation Night presented by Double T Leather.

He used the outside line to pass leader JP Crabtree on lap 38 restart and then survived two more restarts to record the victory. Tomasik won the first McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model Feature of the year in April.

“The cautions didn’t matter,” Tomasik said in the AutoFarm McCrocklin Ford Winner’s Circle. “This car was on a rail.”

Greg VanAlst, who started last in the 15-car field after not making a qualifying attempt almost caught point leader Jason Atkinson for second at the checkered flag. Crabtree finished fourth followed by Jack Dossey III.

The early lead was taken by Ronnie Rose, who led the first 23 laps before Crabtree made an inside pass coming off the second corner.

In the second 75-lap for the CRA Street Stocks fans that waited out a rain delay were treated to an exciting race with four veteran drivers battling for the win.

Point leader Jason Atkinson, starting from the pole position as the result of a invert of the top five qualifiers, grabbed the lead and was chased early by Colby Lane.

But when Lane’s car started getting loose in the corners he was passed by Calvin Parham, Josh Poore and Jeff Lane.

For 17 laps they ran nose to tail until the third caution flag waved for fluid on the track on lap 64. Lane’s night ended on the restart when he made contact with Robert Amos Jr in turn three. Poore’s night ended on lap 68 with a mechanical problem.

On the final restart Atkinson pulled away for the victory with James Kirby III coming home second after passing Parham with Tyler Marsh and Robert Amos Sr. rounding out the top five.

Kyle O’Gara had to work for several laps before he was able to pass early leader Amanda Davies on lap eight and drove away to his second Mel Kenyon Midget feature win of the year at Anderson Speedway.

One he was out front O’Gara opened a comfortable lead over Ryan Huggler, who got inside Davies on lap 16.

But behind the front runners there was a spirited battle for the third spot involving Davies, Clayton Gaines, Dameron Taylor and Logan Huggler.

The caution flag waved on lap 26 when contact was made by the group fighting for third made contact with Kent Kriegbaum.

Following O’Gara and Ryan Huggler to the checkered flag were Logan Huggler,  Ashlea Albertson and Travis Young.