National Sprint Car Hall of Famer returns for more

Jeff Bloom strapping into his sprint car before the 2015 Little 500 - Richard Golardi Picture

Back in 1972, Jeff Bloom won the Little 500 on his very first attempt. He is one of six gentlemen to have achieved this feat in 71 races. In 2019, he will be attempting to make a record 41st start in the Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW.  

Bloom practicing for the 2018 Little 500 – Dave Sink Photo

The Bangor, Michigan driver will be back behind the wheel of his famed #26 sprint car. The three time Little 500 winner has a storied racing career that includes induction into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in 2013. In the Little 500 he has earned one pole, nine top-five finishes, as well as 12 top 10’s.  He also sits second in total laps completed behind nine-time winner, Eric Gordon. However; Bloom isn’t finished racing yet, as he chases his fourth Little 500 win.  

This racing season has seen a renewed energy around the Michigan native. In addition to the Little 500, Bloom is planning on racing the entire Must See Racing Sprint Car Series schedule. The series has 13 events in seven different states. The first Must See race of the season is at Anderson Speedway on May 4. Bloom is a former winner in the series.  

Bloom racing will continue to receive support from Roberts Steel Erection in Kalamazoo, MI; Flint Trucking in Litchfield, MI; Sterling Express in Valparaiso, IN; PGG Enterprises in Greenfield, IN. Throughout his 53 years of racing he has had many crew members including Jeremy Bewley, Don Burton, Ken Flint, Gary Lands, Charlie Muste, Rodger Knapp, Marcus Nisley. Bloom Racing would also like to mention two guys that helped the for several years: Bob Bixby from Pentwater, MI, who passed away in 2005, and Orris Hughes from Anderson, IN, who passed away in 2017.

Jeff Bloom practicing with Must See Winged Sprints at Anderson Speedway – Dave Sink Photo

Bloom is the third previous winner to enter the 71st Annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW. The other previous winners entered are Kody Swanson and Brian Tyler. Kody Swanson was the 2016 and 2018 winner of the race and will be looking for his third victory. Brian Tyler is the other former winner who boast two wins in the race. This will be the first time he is the owner and driver in the Little 500.

To pre-order 71st Annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW tickets, visit the main ticket office Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. or call 765-642-0206 ext. 21. Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW is scheduled for May 25th. The Little 500 will also be available to be purchased on Pay-Per-View through   

71st Annual Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW

4 Kody Swanson Kingsburg, Calif. Nolen Racing

20 Shane Hollingsworth Lafayette, Ind. Nolen Racing

22 Bobby Santos Franklin, Mass. DJ Racing

26 Jeff Bloom Bangor, Mich. Jeff Bloom

26 Aaron Pierce Yorktown, Ind. Sam Pierce

44 Brian Tyler Parma, Mich. Brian Tyler

59 John Inman Dover, Fla. John Inman

68 Mickey Kempgens Tampa, Fla. PCS Racing Inc.

99 Baden Stewart Salem, Ind. Jamie Stewart

9 Entries as of 3/7/19