Tharp Scores First Feature Win in Ford Division

There was plenty of rubbing is racing action in the Vintage Wrench Ford Amateur Division with Rickie Tharp II emerging as a first-time winner. Colson Gray jumped into the lead at the start chased by Owen Aaron and Tharp. By the fifth lap Aaron was leading the race with Tharp running second as Gray dropped back to third. After 14 laps the caution flag had waved three times with Aaron maintaining the lead on the restarts. Tharp took the lead on lap 16 bringing along Gray by using the low line in turn three. The final caution flag waved on lap 18 when Danny Vickery spun in turn two. On the restart Gray got caught in the high lane and dropped back to tenth. Aaron finished second followed by Stephen Vickery, Travis Dobbs and Billy Hayes.

Logan Krugler posted the fast time during qualifying but problems in the feature resulted in a 13th place finish. Colt Gray led the entire way in the first of two heat races with Tharp coming home in second followed by Austin McIntyre. Tommy Rogers for the second time this year was the winner in the second heat after Caleb Southerland was black-flagged for turning three consecutive laps at a time faster than his qualifying effort. Hayes and Dobbs rounded out the top three.