Spring Championships Highlight First Responders Night

Anderson Speedway is honoring local public safety personnel with First Responders Night on Saturday. Fans will be able to view public safety equipment and during the intermission demonstration will take place with canine officer Rico. The five local racing divisions will be in the spotlight with features for all the divisions.

This year has seen two different winners in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models have found their way into AutoFarm McCrocklin Ford winner’s circle. Scott Tomasik won the opening night feature race and defending speedway champion Jack Dossey III has won the last two races, including the first visit of the year by the CRA Late Model Sportsman.

There have been three different winners in Street Stock competition with Calvin Parham and Jimmy Kirby recording wins for the local division and Robert Amos Jr. capturing the CRA Street Stock 75-lap feature last Saturday.

John Robbins is going for a third consecutive win in the Thunder Roadsters Division with Doug Dugger winning once.

Adam Lee and Randy Hoppes have both visited the winner’s circle in the Marcum Welding Pro Compacts.

Curtis Chapman is the latest feature winner in the Harts Auto Figure 8 Division with Jeff Swinford winning the first feature.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with qualifying at 6:30 p.m. and racing action starts at 8 p.m.

The Saturday racing card is a prelude to Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW GM activities next week.

The Must See Racing Winged Sprints and Mel Kenyon Midgets are in action on Wednesday starting at 7 p.m.

Pole day for the Little 500 is Thursday from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. and bump day on Friday from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.

The 67th running of the Pay Less Little 500 is set for Saturday, May 23 at 8 p.m.