Sage Scores back to back Turkey Bash wins at Anderson


ANDERSON – Ohio driver Josh Sage made his second trip to Anderson Speedway for the Turkey Bash pay off with a victory in Street Stock competition.

Street Stocks
Sage became the first driver to win two Street Stock features on the annual event to close out the racing season the high banked quarter-mile oval. Elwood’s Jacob McElfresh took advantage of starting on the pole position grabbing the lead from Anderson racer Joe Pulley and Muncie’s Nathan Greene. Following the second caution period on lap four for a spin by Frankton driver Dalton Weismiller, Pulley dropped out of the top five by lap ten. By that time Sage had advanced from the eighth starting position to be running third and Speedway champion Josh Poore climbed from the tenth starting spot to fifth. On a restart Sage got inside of Greene with an inside move on the front straight and Poore a lap later was running fourth by passing Mike Kesher. The fourth and final caution flag waved on lap 13 when Pulley, battling an ill-handling race car spun in turn two. That was the turning point in the race as both Sage and Poore were able to get outside of McElresh to claim the two top spots. Poore kept the pressue on Sage for the next 15 laps looking for a way to claim the preferred low groove when he slipped coming off the second corner with two laps remaining. Sage claimed the win followed by Poore, McElFresh, Greene and Kesher.

Thunder Cars
New Castle driver AJ Stewart led the entire distance to make it two consecutive wins in the Thunder Car division. Stewart was able to pull away from the competition while Ronnie Phipps. David McConnell and Kyle Allmond waged a spirited battle for the second spot. McConnell got around Phipps with an inside pass entering turn one with seven laps remaining but was unable to close the gap to Stewart. Phipps, Allmond and Tyler DeHart rounded out the top five.

Marcum’s Welding Front Wheel Drive
After watching his brother win the Street Stock feature Jordan Sage captured his first ever win at Anderson Speedway in Front Wheel Drive oval action. The early lead was taken by Jeff Marlow chased by Adam Lee, Sage and Jim Sourmail. At the only caution flag on lap 10 Sage had moved around Lee for second with an inside pass exiting the fourth corner. Before the race could resume Lee’s race came to an end with an overheating problem. After chasing Marlow for several laps Sage was able to get inside on the front straight with 12 laps remaining. But the pass was set up in turn four when the two leaders split the lapped car of Michelle McNeeley with Sage opting for the low line. Marlow scraped the back straight wall several laps later and had to settle for a seventh place finish.
Sage was followed to the checkers by Sourmail, Brett Smith, Tyler Sage and Jaycob Sherwood. Drivers from Ohio claimed three of the top five spots.

Other race winners included: Adam Lee in Front Wheel Drive action; Josh McKnight in Pro Compacts; and Gregg Cory in Thunder Roadsters.