Poore, Jennings, Hoppes, Henson and Frueh Score Victories

Pick-A-Part Night at the Races on Saturday, June 7 at Anderson Speedway featured Josh Poore continuing to be unbeaten in the Street Stocks and fast qualifier Chris Jennings taking his first win of the year in the VCTS Pro Compacts. Additionally, Dylan Hoppes became a surprise winner in the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, defending champion Kevin Henson slid backwards to victory in the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s and 13-year-old Dallas Frueh captured the CSR mini cup main event.

Colby Lane led early in the Street Stock feature before defending CRA champion Dustin Burge made the pass for the lead on lap three. Josh Poore followed in pursuit as the two battled for the lead. A spin by Kent Carson on lap 16 brought the yellow and set up a side by side restart between Burge and Poore. The two battled hard with Poore taking command on lap 17. Burge stayed on his bumper to the finish followed by James Kirby, Calvin Parham and Phil Jenkins to round out the top five in the 18 car field. Carson and Danny Adams were heat winners.

Rodney Sutton jumped to the lead from the pole in the VCTS Pro Compact feature and wound in and out of traffic in the 23-car field. Sutton was feeling pressure from Chris Jennings and Jason Timmerman when the yellow flew on lap 18 for a three car melee. On the double file restart, Jennings and Timmerman both made quick work of Sutton who fell to third. Chris Jennings took the win over Timmerman, Sutton, Greg Isbell and Gary Eaton Jr. Ron Masters, Nick Barrett and J.R. Vester were prelim victors.

Billy Hooten and Marshall Clark had an awesome duel going for the lead of the Front Wheel Drive Oval main event before they tangled sending Hooten into the turn 1 concrete. Clark took the point on this lap five incident and then led the final 15 laps. Following the race Clark was disqualified following technical inspection. Dylan Hoppes was awarded the victory, his second straight of the season. Behind the race winner were Jared Keller, Jerry Dane, Jesse Thomas and Brandon Lee Cook. Hoppes won the heat and Keller was fast timer.

The Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 was a wild affair. Randy Hoppes and Randy Owen were early leaders before Kevin Henson powered his way into the lead on lap five of the 15 lap event. Henson had a sizable but had to take a wild ride through the grass to avoid a slower car at the intersection with two laps to go. This allowed a hard charging Nick Warner to catch Henson and the battle was on. Warner pulled alongside Henson on the final lap as the two exchanged paint. Henson ended up spinning across the finish line backwards for the win. When the dust had settled, Warner finished second with, Jeff Williams, Hoppes and Kamden Creek rounding out the top five. Henson had a clean sweep winning the heat and being fast qualifier.

Dallas Frueh and Brody Hays put on a driving clinic in the CRS mini cup feature as Frueh took the lead on lap three and never looked back. He was trailed closely by Hays the entire race. Rounding out the top five were Mike Harrold, Steve Naples and Zayne Feller. Hays and Feller were heat winners with Frueh fast qualifier.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, June 13 and Saturday, June 14 with one of the marquee events of the 2014 season. On Friday night, the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman/McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models will do battle in a 75-lap event, paying $2,000 to the winner. The AMCS Outlaws will also be part of the Friday lineup. 

On Saturday, the Stoops Freightliner Redbud 300 will showcase some of the top Super Late Model drivers in the ARCA/CRA Super Series sanctioned event.