Poore Claims Street Stock 100; Harmon and Gossar Also Win During Wick’s Pies Triple 100’s

By Ken da la Bastide

It proved to be a Sunday drive for Josh Poore has he dominated to win the Street Stock 100-lap feature in dominating fashion at Anderson Speedway on Sunday, October 19.

Poore set fast time during qualifications for the Street Stock division of the Wick’s Pies Triple 100’s.

The Anderson driver opened a sizable lead over Tyler Marsh when the red flag waved on lap 33 when Andrew Teepe made contact with the turn one wall with flames shooting from the engine compartment.

Poore again opened a comfortable lead over Marsh and Jason Atkinson when Jamie Ward spun on the front straight.

On the final restart Poore again took command of the race leading all 100 laps for his fifth feature win of the year and picking up the $1,000 payday.

Marsh came home in second with CRA season champion Jason Atkinson holding off Colby Lane for third with Mason Keller rounding out the top five.

“I knew it would be hard for anyone to pass on the outside,” Poore said of the two restarts.

Trent Gossar inherited the lead when Curtis Chapman had a mechanical problem and drove to his third win of the year.

Chapman’s shot to close the year with three consecutive wins literally went up in smoke while leading on lap 29.

Gossar got the jump on the restart and was dogged the next 63 laps by Eric Evans. Evans stayed glued to Gossar’s rear bumper as the two leaders weaved their way through lapped traffic.

With five laps remaining Evans slipped a little coming off the fourth corner which allowed Gossar to open the gap and win by three-tenths of a second. Johnny Magree, the last car on the lead lap finished third.

Kevin Harmon was not going to be denied in the 100-lap feature several times splitting lapped car and running three wide through the corners to record the victory.

Ryan Claborn led the first nine laps, but Harmon got the jump in the high groove on lap ten to take the lead. From there he was able to open a comfortable lead over Claborn, who was unchallenged for the second spot.

Chris Jennings recovered from a spin on lap 28 while running third. He broke into the top five on lap 42 with an inside pass of Marshall Clark. Five laps later he used a similar move in turn three to pass Jerry Dane.

Jennings moved into the third spot on lap 51 with an inside pass of Jeff Williams entering turn three.

Claborn was black-flagged on lap 86 when he started to drag the rear bumper.

For Harmon it was his third win of the year followed by Jennings, Dane, Tommy Bigelow and Williams.

“At the start I couldn’t get the car to shift,” Williams said, who also won the season championship with the win.  “On the restart it started working again. I just got going faster than him (Claborn).”

Racing action returns next Saturday with the Stoops Freightliner Night of Thrills featuring Tom Raper RV Trailer Race, Roll Over Contest, Mattress Race, Hour Glass Race and Cork Screw Race. The event will also include Trunk or Treat, Wrestling Matches prior to racing and huge Fireworks show after racing ends.