Phipps Drives to Pro Compact Crown

Story By Ken de la Bastide

When the Pro Compact class was added to the Anderson Speedway schedule during the 2014 season, Ron Phipps and car owner Kevin Harmon didn’t plan on running for a title.

But when the season ended it was Phipps wearing the champions crown with Jeff Williams driving to a feature win in the final point race of the season for the team.

Phipps set fast time three times and scored two feature wins. He added four top five and six top ten finishes on his way to the championship.

“It was a lot of fun,” Phipps said. “We were putting together a car for the 100-lap race and decided to go for the championship.”

Harmon finished second in point, driving for Williams, with a feature win, five top five and seven top ten’s.

Adam Lee finished third in points followed by Randy Hoppes and Williams, driving for Harmon.

All told the trio of Phipps, Harmon and Williams recorded a total of six feature wins.

Phipps was named the Roky Tharp Sportsman of the Year for the division with Harmon receiving the Dedication award.