Marcum Claims Second Late Model Win at Anderson Speedway; Chapman, Phipps Continue Winning Ways

Markleville driver Jeff Marcum scored his second feature win in Late Model action at Anderson Speedway on Saturday but he didn’t take the lead until there were three laps remaining.


Alexandria’s Kent Baledge took the lead at the start chased by Wes Russell Jr. and Marcum, the fast qualifier on the night.


The remaining order remained unchanged until lap 18 following a battle for the second spot between Russell and Marcum. Coming off the fourth corner Marcum got into the rear bumper of Russell, causing Russell to spin on the front straight.


Following the restart both Russell and Marcum quickly worked their way back into the top three and on lap 21 Russell took the lead when Baledge drifted high in turn four.


Three laps later Marcum moved into the second spot coming off turn two.


For the next nine laps Marcum drove in Russell’s tire tracks looking for a way to make the pass and take the lead. The opportunity came as the two leaders approached a slower car in turn three on lap 33. Russell appeared to leave the lower lane open which gave Marcum the opportunity to go for the point.


When Russell came down his car spun bringing out the second caution flag. On the restart Marcum held off Rick Segvich and Russell passing Baledge on the final lap to finish third.


Curtis Chapman got a surprise gift from Hart’s Auto Figure 8 race leader with 15 laps remaining to win his second feature of 2017.


The critical decision was made by race leader Ronnie Phipps on a restart on lap 10 when he decided to take the outside line, giving Chapman the inside groove going into turn one.


That restart was the result of an accident in the crossover involving Shawn Cullen, running second at the time and Nick Warner.


Warner applied the brakes before entering the crossover, but too late to avoid Cullen’s car. The incident ended the night for both drivers.


Once in the lead Chapman pulled away from Phipps with Joe Beaver coming home in third.


After the two scheduled front row starters were sent to the tail of the field in the Marcum Welding Front Wheel Drive spring championship, Ron Phipps took advantage of the situation to remain a perfect three for three in feature wins.


Phipps opened a comfortable lead on the field while fast qualifier Nick Warner and Rickie Tharp had to work their way through the field.


With Phipps running comfortably Warner and Tharp battled side by side for the second spot for several laps before Tharp got the advantage when Warner was trapped behind a lapped car.


Following Phipps to the checkers were Tharp, Warner, Camden Creek and Jerry Loy.