Marcum Captures PGG 100; Lee and Swinford Score Wins

Jeff Marcum inherited the lead in the PGG Enterprises 100 for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models when the two leaders tangled and went on to record his first victory of 2015.

The two drivers that won the first five late model features of the year at Anderson Speedway Jack Dossey III and Scotty Tomasik brought out the caution flag on lap 62 while battling for the lead. But that was just the start of their had problems on the Interstate Auto Auction restart with Tomasik caught up in a three car incident on the front straight and Dossey retiring to the pits.
Dossey had taken the lead from Ronnie Rose with an outside pass on the front straight on the fourth lap. From there he was chased closely by Tomasik and Marcum. Tomasik attempted an inside pass on Dossey entering turn three on lap 61 and the two made contact.
Marcum pulled away to a comfortable lead over Danny Trent, who was battling a loose race car in the corners.
The win was worth $2,000 and the PGG Mussel Loader Trophy for the victory.
Billy VanMeter slipped inside of Kent Baledge on the final lap to come home in third. Baledge and Jason Neal rounded out the top five.
For the third time this season in Marcum Welding Pro Compact action Adam Lee set fast time during qualifications and made it pay off with a feature win.
Lee was able to take the lead from the start and opened a comfortable lead until the caution flag waved on lap 23 when Brandon Cook made contact with the outside retaining wall on the front straight while battling for the fourth spot with Matt Tharp.
On the restart Lee again pulled away for the Spring Championship win followed by Jared Keller, Matt Tharp,
Terry Neal and Ryan Claborn. Claborn turned in an impressive run after starting 19 th in the field.
Jeff Swinford set a new track record for the Harts Auto Figure-8 Division and then went out and led all 30 laps to capture the Spring Championship.
On two restarts Swinford was able to pull away from Curtis Chapman for his second win of 2015. Chapman pulled out of competition on lap 19 with an apparent mechanical problem.
Bruce McFall was able to pass Nick Warner with an outside move in turn one with five laps remaining with Warner coming home in third followed by Larry Southerland.