Local Talent has Dominated CRA Sportsman Races

For the past seven years when the Champion Racing Association Sportsman Late Models have visited Anderson Speedway the local talent has emerged the winner.

Since 2018 Jeff Marcum has pulled into the Riley & Sons Victory Lane a total of 12 times in 21 events.

Muncie’s JP Crabtree has won two events with Ronnie Rose, Kent Baledge and Nathan Greene all scoring one victory.

Fort Wayne’s Tommy Cook won an Anderson race in 2020 the same year that Brandon Varney won two of the four events.

Billy Hutson scored a victory in 2021 and Caleb Reschar was victorious in the 2023 season.

Marcum won the first 75-lap feature earlier this year with Crabtree and Jason Tmmerman rounding out the top three.

After three races this season Zach Stacy is the point leader holding a 33-point margin over Glenn Neal with Logan Huckebe in third and Crabtree fifth in points. Regular competitor Kent Carson sits fourth in the standings.

Stacy finished second at the opening race of the season at the Shadybowl track in Ohio and has followed that up with sixth place finishes at Anderson and Owosso Speedway in Michigan.

Crabtree finished third at the Shadybowl and didn’t compete in the Michigan race.

Hockeba finished eighth in the first Anderson appearance and Neal came home in tenth.

The CRA Late Model Sportsman return to Anderson Speedway this Saturday, June 15. They will be joined by the Vores Welding & Steel Street Stocks, Legends, and Marcum’s Welding Front Wheel Drives. Qualifying on Saturday is set for 5:45 p.m. with racing at 7:30 p.m.

Adult tickets are $15, $5 for children between the ages of 6 and 12 and free for children under the age of 5.