Last Minute Heroics Led to Three Victors

Tight racing was strongly in evidence at Anderson Speedway with the winners in three feature events decided in the closing laps. Brandon Huff for the third time captured the Coyote Racing Series feature on the high-banked quarter mile oval on Saturday Night Racing presented by the U.S. Army.

Brad Copen took the early lead chased by Stephen Cox and Chad Lemmerman with Huff and fast qualifier Joe Quinn in the top five. By lap seven Quinn was running second using the high groove to gain several positions. On lap nine Quinn took the lead from Copen with an outside move on the front straight and Huff claiming the second spot just two laps later. For the next 18 laps Huff looked inside and outside of Quinn to make the move to grab the top spot. On the final lap Huff used the high line entering turn one and passed Quinn for the win. Copen finished third followed by Spencer Stineman and Lemmerman.

Anderson’s Elliott McKinney chased down visiting Ohio driver Corey Plunkett in the closing laps to win the Marcum’s Welding Front Wheel Drive Division feature race. Plunkett took the lead early in the race and was chased by fellow Buckeye state competitor Alec Young and Terrill Willhoite, the most recent feature winner in the division. The caution flag waved on lap two when Colin Grissom made heavy contact with the outside retaining wall on the back straight. McKinney moved into the second spot on lap five and for the next 12 laps was glued to the rear bumper of Plunkett’s car. As the two leaders encountered lapped traffic McKinney was able to use the outside groove to take the lead on the front straight. McKinney went on to win by a half-second over Plunkett with Young, Willhoite and Thomas Winger rounding out the top five.

Muncie driver Dawson West took the lead from his brother, Jordan, on lap nine and then held off two visiting Kentucky drivers to win the Vintage Wrench Ford Division feature. After taking the lead fast qualifier Daniel Darrett and John Lister swapped second place several times over the closing laps with West maintaining a car-length lead. Coming off the final corner West used lapped traffic as a pick and went on to win by .279-seconds over Lister, Darrett, Jordan West and Jared Keller.

Scotty Tomasik inherited the lead in the Modified feature when early leader Joe Beaver tangled with Jacob Owens and Robbie Wyman on the back straight. Once out front, Tomasik was able to drive away from the field with Jeremy Jackson finishing second followed by Beaver, Jason Atkinson and Adam Lee.