Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial and Twin 50’s Highlight Saturday’s Program

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, October 4 with the 18th Annual Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial featuring the Legends, Twin 50’s with the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and Street Stocks plus Pro Compacts.

Ever since 1997 the biggest race of the season for the Legends Division drivers is the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial.

The race started in memory of Grant Fritz, a promising Legends driver, who died two years prior to the inaugural running in a garage accident. His father Larry won the first race.

Greg Dietzen, a Legends competitor, who helped many other drivers over the years, was added to the name of the race in 2005.

The race has traditionally attracted drivers competing for points in the quest for the Legends National Championship.

Tommy Jordan was the first driver to score back-to-back wins in 2001 and 2002. Kayne Hickman repeated that accomplishment in 2003 and 2004.

Rising NASCAR star James Buescher won the event in 2005 after setting fast time during qualifications.

Indianapolis driver Rodney Smith has two wins, scoring victories in 1998 and again in 2006.

No driver has a better record in the Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial then Tennessee driver David Moyes III. He has set quick time six times since 2007 and has recorded five consecutive wins from 2008 through 2012.

Somewhat of a surprise in the history of the race is the fact that Anderson Speedway track champion John Robbins has never pulled into victory lane.

Robbins set fast time in 2013, his first pole position for the race. He finished second to Kevin Donahue. He also finished second in 2009 and has three third place showings from 2010 through 2012.

Jack Dossey lll won the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models championship after finishing 13 points ahead of Billy Van Meter, who won the season finale on September 21. The remainder of the top five included Jeff Marcum, Kent Baledge and Rob Allman.

Winners this season in MEP Late Models include Danny Trent (3) with Chris Hacker, Jack Dossey lll, Greg Van Alst, Jason Atkinson, Jeff Marcum, Quinton Bear and Van Meter earning one feature victory.

Dustin Burge captured the Street Stock title with James Kirby grabbing the runner-up honors. Third was Josh Poore with Andrew Cook and Danny Adams filling out the top five.

Drivers with victories during the 2014 Street Stock season that include five CRA Street Stock events includes Poore (4) along with single victories by Burge, Bret Miles Jr., Jason Atkinson, Tyler Marsh and Calvin Parham.

On Saturday, October 4, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.