Dossey Claims 5th Late Model Win at Anderson; Lee, Dietz and Swinford Score Victories

Defending McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model champion Jack Dossey III made a nifty move driving his way from third to the lead.

With an invert of eight following qualifications on Anderson Sesquicentennial Night at Anderson Speedway presented by the Madison County Visitor’s Bureau, Tyler Marsh grabbed the point chased by Ronnie Rose and Jeff Marcum.

Dossey climbed to third when the first caution flag waved when Rose and Jason Neal tangled on the front straight. Before a lap could be completed Dave Clark and Tanner Ballard made contact in the second corner.

Two laps later Dossey drove underneath both Marcum and Marsh to take the lead and Danny Trent moved into the second spot a lap later.

The third caution flag waved on lap 15 when Marsh and Neal got together on the main straightaway and both came to a stop along the turn one wall.

Dossey was able to maintain the lead over Trent through two more restarts with Marcum, Wes Russell Jr. and Joe Woodring rounding out the top five.

During qualifications Dossey claimed his sixth quick time of the year and recorded his fifth feature win to pad his point lead over Marcum.

Four drivers raced side by side through the first half of the Marcum Welding Pro Compact Division before Adam Lee took control with an outside pass of Matt Tharp coming off the fourth corner.

Brian Slavey led the first 12 laps before being passed by Tharp with an outside move entering the first corner.

For Lee it was his seventh win of the year. He was followed by Tharp, Trent Gossar, Dylan Hoppes and Kevin Harmon.

Josh Dietz battled with Zack Miller for the first 15 laps of the Legends Division feature, looking to make an inside pass in turn three for several circuits.

Finally on lap 16 Dietz was able to get a run on the front straight to take the point with Miller right on his heels. He had to survive a final restart to record his second win of the year.

Griffin Brown, Gerad Miller and Jacob Carroll rounded out the top five.

Jeff Swinford continued his dominating performance in the Harts Auto Figure-8 Division by setting a new track record during qualifying and then charging to the front on the first lap to record his seventh win of the year.

Swinford was never challenged for the lead as he opened a comfortable lead over second place finisher Ronnie Rose. Nick Warner, Shawn Cullen and Brice McFall completed the top five.