Danny Trent Scores CRA/MEP Late Model Victory; Trent Gossar and Nick Warner Also Score Wins

Martinsville driver Danny Trent made it two consecutive wins in Sportsman Late Model action at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Trent started on the pole position thanks to an inversion of the eight fastest qualifiers and led all 75 laps to win the CRA/McGunegill Engine Performance feature.

To record his victory Trent had to turn back a number of challengers on 10 restarts. He was challenged early by defending track champion Ronnie Rose, Jeff Marcum and finally Trey Craig.

Craig moved into the second spot on lap 35 with an inside pass of Rose on lap 35 entering turn one.

Trent went on to win by almost one second over Craig with Marcum, JP Crabtree and Greg VanAlst rounding out the top five.

Billy Van Meter, who set a new CRA track record during qualifying was caught up in an incident with Jared Thomas on lap 18. Thomas got loose coming down the back straight making contact with Van Meter.

Trent Gossar inherited the lead in the NASH FM Thunder Car feature when his father, Tom spun with three laps remaining.

Trent Gossar maintained the lead on a green-white-checker finish holding off defending champion Curtis Chapman and Robbie Wyman.

Brian Lewis took the early lead before being passed by Tom Gossar on the fifth lap with an outside move on the back straight.

Nick Warner made it three consecutive wins in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division taking the lead from Randy Owens on the third lap entering turn one.

After taking the point, Warner pulled away from Owens and Kevin Henson battling side by side before Henson took control on lap 11 with an inside pass coming off the fourth corner.

Jeff Williams and Randy Hoppes rounded out the top five.

Racing returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, May 17 with Spring Championships taking place featuring MEP Late Models, Street Stocks, NASH FM ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Front Wheel Drives Figure.