Crabtree Wins Late Model Title; Kirby, McKinney Keller and Dugger Claim Championships

Four of the five drivers leading the point standings entering the Season Championship night presented by Byrider, secured their respective titles.

Danny Trent set fast time during qualifying for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models for the 40 lap feature. Trent led all 40 laps chased for the entire distance by point leader J.P. Crabtree and Jim Crabtree Jr. Trent had to hold off Crabtree on two restarts but at the end was pulling away to win by 1.5-seconds. Charlie Keevan and Kevin Gross rounded out the top five. J.P. Crabtree’s claimed his first championship at Anderson Speedway. Crabtree who recorded two wins in the past three weeks, said his car was set up better for a short run and Trent’s set-up for the longer runs in the Riley & Sons Victory Lane.

Jared Keller set fast time in the Vintage Wrench Ford Division and led all 25-laps, but the crucial action took place in the battle for second. James Mikesell entered the night with a slim lead over Allen Wagner. The two drivers were battling for the second spot when on lap 23 they made contact on the back straight, sending both drivers to the back of the field on the restart. Keller went on to win and the championship title by .9-tenths of a second over Noah Allison with Shelbie Crabtree claiming the third spot.

Tylar Brown became the sixth different winner in eight races in the Marcum’s Welding Front Wheel Drive Division. Cody Riley dominated the early stages of the race until a broken axle sidelined him on lap 18. That gave Brown the lead over eventual division champion Elliott McKinney with J.D. Blankenship coming home in third.

Jimmy Kirby won his third Noble Wine & Spirit Thunder Car feature which gave him back to back championships in the division. Doug Dugger was crowned the Thunder Roadster champion winning his fourth feature of the year.