Boorsma gets Modified win at Anderson; Four new track records set

There were ideal conditions at Anderson Speedway on Saturday as new track records were established in four divisions during qualifications.
New marks were established by John Poore in Street Stock action, Jeremy Hamilton in VROA Modifieds, Zach Miller in Legends racing and John Robbins in the Thunder Roadsters.
With three of the five fast qualifiers knocked out of competition Michigan driver Ryan Boorsma scored his first career win at Anderson Speedway.
Jeremy Hamilton posted a new track record during qualifying on First Responders Night presented by Madison County Storm Water Quality Partnership turning a lap at 13.587-seconds around the high banked quarter-mile oval.
During the first of two heat races for the Vintage Racing Organization of America Modifieds five time Anderson Speedway winner Tom Boorsma saw his night end in a puff of smoke. Hamilton’s night would end on lap 6 when he made contact with the outside retaining wall while leading the race.
In the second heat Randy Pierson, who qualified fourth, would see his night of racing end against the turn four retaining wall.
The early feature race leader was Rob Parker who was passed by Elkhart’s Gregory Coburn with an outside pass on the front straight on the fourth circuit. A lap later Ryan Boorsma used the same move to claim the second spot.
For the next five laps Coburn was able to hold off Boorsma by running the preferred line. But on lap 10 Boorsma used the high groove racing down the back straight to take the point.
Previous Anderson Speedway race winner Jason Burrus passed Coburn on lap 19 entering turn three to move into the second spot.
Boorsma drove to a dominating win over Burrus, Coburn, Don Smith and Tony Campbell.
It was Boorsma’s first win and the second consecutive win at Anderson Speedway for the Michigan based team.
Thunder Roadsters
Point leader John Robbins was driving a borrowed car in Thunder Roadster action but the end result was his sixth win of the season.
Robbins sold his familiar blue 19 last weekend and hopped into the borrowed car to finish out the 2017 season in seeking the championship.
The Frankton driver set a new track record of 13.190-seconds during qualifying breaking the old mark of 13.282-seconds set by Mike Meyer last year.
Marty Griffin led the feature race for the first three laps before being passed by Dave Osborn and Robbins. Robbins took the lead on lap five with an inside pass of Osborn entering turn three and pulled away from the field.
Osborn came home second followed by Griffin, Rodney Oliver and Chad Cory.
Other winners:
Caleb Heady led all 25 laps to win his first Legends feature at Anderson holding off Taylor Webb and new track record holder Zach Miller.
Anderson driver Josh Poore recorded his sixth Street Stock feature victory of the season with Andrew Cook and Joe Pulley rounding out the top three.
Alex Ertmann won the CSR Mini-Cup feature with Mick Mucha and Steve Napier finishing on the podium.