Atkinson Wins CRA Street Stock Feature; Chapman, Robbins and Warner Also Score Victories

New Castle’s Jason Atkinson scored his first CRA Street Stock win of the season Saturday at Anderson Speedway holding off Dustin Burge.

Atkinson, entered the night with the CRA point lead over Jimmy Kirby and Burge and extended it slightly with his second series win of the year.

Atkinson passed early leader Mason Keller on a restart on lap 24 using the outside line down the back straight.

He had to survive two restarts in the final ten laps on Herald Bulletin Cow Appreciation Night by holding off Burge, the defending CRA Street Stock champion by about a half-second.

Josh Poore slipped inside of Keller with seven laps remaining down the back straight and the two drivers ran side by side for several laps. Kirby came home in fifth.

Jeff Lane started 21st in the field and was running sixth on lap 66 when it appeared a front suspension part broke sending him into the turn one wall.

In NASH-FM Thunder Car action defending champion Curtis Chapman took the lead from Morte Lewis on lap 13 with an inside move coming off the second corner to record the victory.

It’s Chapman’s second feature win of the season, winning back on April 19.

Lewis led the first 12 laps from the outside of the front row with Chapman and Robbie Wyman working their way through the field. Wyman spun on lap 14 after making contact with Lewis on the front straight.

Following Chapman to the checkers were Lonny Burton, Wes Russell Jr., Randy Hoppes and Kyle Allmond.

Nick Warner scored his sixth feature win in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 Division taking the point on the second lap and pulling away from the rest of the field.

He was followed by Jeff Williams, Kamden Creek, Randy Hoppes and Brian McKinney.

John Robbins recorded his third Thunder Roadster feature win taking over the lead when Chris Weddel was black-flagged on lap ten.

Weddel took the lead from the start and was being chased by Robbins when he ran several laps faster than his qualifying time and received the black-flag. Robbins was followed by Doug Dugger and Mark Dietzen.

On Saturday, July 19, racing action returns with McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, NASH FM ThunderCars, Pro Compacts, Front Wheel Drives Oval and Legends.