ARCA/CRA Late Models Return Saturday, 14th Annual Glen Niebel Classic Featuring USSA Sprints on Sunday

Anderson Speedway returns to action this weekend with Late Model/Open Wheel Weekend planned on Saturday, April 26 and Sunday, April 27. 

On Saturday, the ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by will compete in the Anderson Properties 125 presented by Great Deals Saving Magazine. The Front Wheel Drives Oval and Thunder Roadsters will also be part of the racing program. 

Anderson Speedway has hosted a total of 54 ARCA/CRA series events to date. Former two-time series champion Brian Ross is the all-time series victory leader at Anderson Speedway with nine victories.

This will be the only opportunity for the ARCA/CRA Super Series teams to get some racing on the tight quarter mile prior to the prestigious Stoops Freightliner Redbud 300, which has been moved for the 2014 season to Saturday, June 14th.

Georgia hot shoe T.J. Reaid is entered and looks to claim his third straight Anderson Properties 125 presented by Great Deals Savings Magazine after winning the event in 2012 and 2013. Series points leader Brian Campbell tops the list of series regulars entered for Saturday night’s event. Campbell was the winner of the series season opener at Toledo Speedway on April 12 and has 13 career victories. 

Reaid and Campbell will have some tough competition on Saturday, 2012 Redbud 300 winner Ross Kenseth is entered. Kenseth, the son of NASCAR Champion Matt Kenseth, will bring the newly formed Boyne Machine Racing Team to Anderson. 

2013 ARCA/CRA Super Series Champion Travis Braden is entered as he looks to defend his Championship and get his first ever series victory at Anderson. Braden has former ASA Series Champion Gary St. Amant turning the wrenches for him in 2014. 

Former Anderson CRA winner Rick Turner is also entered, Turner has competed with the series since that first event in 1997 and looks to get back into victory lane. Outlaw Late Model standout Tyler Roahrig will return to series competition and will also compete in the Glen Niebel Classic on Sunday. 

Other top CRA drivers entered for Saturday’s event includes 2013 Rookie of the Year Ali Kern, Brett Robinson, Brandon Oakley, veteran CRA competitor Eddie Van Meter and his son Billy, who is a full-time competitor in the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Series.

The series has a great group of registered Senneker Performance Rookie of the Year candidates including former JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour competitors Wes Griffith Jr., Tom Woodin and Canadian racer Brandon Watson. Also 2013 Illiana Motor Speedway Champion Paul Shafer Jr. along with former USAC Midget competitor and New Castle resident Dalton Armstrong. 

In the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, Jerry Dane scored his third consecutive victory last weekend and paces the division with a 85 point lead over Brandon Cook. The remainder of the top five includes Jared Keller, Billy Hooten and Jessie Thomas. 

The Thunder Roadsters will make a second season appearance at Anderson. In the opening evening, Chris Weddel scored the victory over James Edsel and John Robbins. 

On Saturday, April 26, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $13 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. 

Sunday’s Glen Niebel Classic will mark the 14th edition of this annual event. For the third consecutive year, the event will be sanctioned by United States Speed Association (USSA) and will be the opening event on the 2014 USSA Sprint Car Challenge Series built by UAW. The Mel Kenyon Midgets will also be on the racing card.

In the opening 11 editions of the Glen Niebel Classic sanctioned by the United State Auto Club (USAC), 11 different drivers scored the victory. Aaron Pierce became the first driver to win multiple events with earning a dominant victory in the inaugural USSA event in 2012 and last year increased his victory total to three. 

The event pays tribute to legendary car/engine builder Glen Niebel. The longtime Edinburgh, Ind. resident passed away in 1999. Niebel revolutionized pavement sprint car racing in the mid-1980’s when he successfully developed a small block Chevy V-6 that could successfully compete with its V-8 counterparts.

Niebel’s V-6 engine took to Anderson Speedway immediately and particularly the Little 500. With the speedway’s short straightaways, and its momentum carrying turns, the engine was perfectly suited for Anderson Speedway. From 1987 through 1997, Niebel’s V-6 engine cars won a remarkable six Little 500’s with drivers Bob Frey and Bentley Warren. There were also multiple second-place finishes during this period. In addition, NASCAR superstar Tony Stewart claimed the 1995 USAC sprint car championship aboard a Glen Niebel owned Chevy V-6.

Aaron Pierce returns this year in search of his fourth Niebel trophy and attempts to remain undefeated in USSA action. He has won the opening five series event. Third-generation driver Jarett Andretti will make his Pavement Sprint Car debut in a Helberg Motorsports prepared machine. Outlaw Late Model standout Tyler Roahrig will be aboard the No. 64 Speed Chaser entry while Chris Neuenschwander looks to improve upon his third-place finish in the 2013 USSA final standings.

On Sunday, April 27, spectator gates open at 11:30 a.m. with the racing beginning at 2. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.