Anderson Speedway Kicks off 70th Season

After Mother Nature delayed opening night by a week, the 70th year of racing action at Anderson Speedway kicks off this Saturday with Late Models highlighting the racing card.
Jeff Marcum is back to defend his 2016 championship in Anderson Late Model action where he dominated winning five of six events. Eddie VanMeter won three of five Champion Racing Association Late Model Sportsman events at the track.
Marcum will be challenged on opening night by open-wheel standout Aaron Pierce who will be behind the wheel of a late model prepared by Scott Neal.
The Marcum Welding Front Wheel Drive division will be in action coming off an exciting year that saw Jeff Williams win the championship on the final night of competition.
Williams won four times and was closely followed in victories by Ron Phipps and Matt Tharp with three wins each.
Defending Thunder Roadster champion Dave Osborn, a two-time winner in 2016, will again be challenged by John Robbins, a recorded seven feature wins last year. Doug Dugger was also a feature winner.
The Hart’s Figure-8 division will be in action following a year in which two-time champion Jeff Swinford and Curtis Chapman both scored five feature victories. Shawn Cullen recorded two wins and Ronnie Rose last season.
Qualifying is set for 4:30 p.m. with racing action starting at 6 p.m. Adult tickets are priced at $12, $4 for children between the ages of 6 and 12.