CRA Super Series, Vore’s Compact Touring Series Highlight Racing Card

Back in 1997 Anderson Speedway was the first track to host a race for the newly formed Champion Racing Association.

Since that time CRA has conducted 63 races on the historic high banked quarter-mile oval with the Super Series making the first of two visits this Saturday.

The Aerco Heating & Cooling 125 will pay $5,000 to the winner and will serve as a tune-up for the Parallax Power Supply Red Bud 400 on Monday, July 16.

A strong field of 21 super late models are entered topped by defending series champion Logan Runyon among the visiting drivers looking to take home the win.

Seven local drivers will be looking to score the victory including 2016 race winner Eddie VanMeter and 1997 race winner Scott Neal.

They will be joined by defending two-time Anderson Speedway McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model champion Jeff Marcum and Jack Dossey III, a two-time late model champion at Anderson and the JEGS All-Stars Tour champion from 2017.

Previous CRA race winners at Anderson competing in the 125-lap feature include Josh Poore, Greg VanAlst and Billy VanMeter.

The Vore’s Compact Touring Series will be marking its 100th race at Anderson Speedway and the pre-entry list shows 45 cars expected to compete.

The Hart’s Auto Figure-8 Division and Marcum Welding Front Wheel Drive divisions are also on the racing card.

Qualifying is set for 6:30 p.m. with racing action at 8 p.m. Adults tickets are $15, $4 for children between 6 and 12 years of age and under six admitted for free.