CRA Super Series Invades Anderson

When the Champion Racing Association started 20 years ago the first ever super late model race took place at Anderson Speedway.

The CRA Super Series will return this Saturday for a 125 lap race along with the Hart’s Auto Figure 8 and ThunderCar divisions.
Brian Ross topped 23 other drivers to win that first event that over the years has seen some of the top late model drivers in the country compete on the high banked one-quarter mile bullring.
Other notables that have won at Anderson Speedway including Kenny Tweedy, Johnny VanDoorn, Bobby Parsley, Jeff Lane, Jack Landis and Peter Cozzolino.
Indianapolis driver Eddie VanMeter won the 2015 race, breaking the string of three consecutive wins by T.J. Reaid.
Current point leader Cody Coughlin is entered for Saturday’s race with leading rookie driver Dalton Armstrong among the entries.
There are several teams traveling to Anderson Speedway this weekend to get ready for the Redbud 300 in July including Florida racer Dalton Sargeant , California driver Zane Smith and Alabama competitor Bret Holmes.
Local drivers entered include two-time Anderson Speedway late model champion Jack Dossey III, Rick Turner, Jim Crabtree and J.P. Crabtree.
Ronnie Rose won a thrilling race for the Hart’s Figure 8 series in the first race of the year holding off a challenge from Shawn Cullen.
Qualifying is set for 6:30 p.m. with racing action starting at 8 p.m.
Adult tickets are priced at $15 with $4 admission cost for children between the ages of 4 and 12.