Bowman, Dawson, Dolder and England Join Little 500 Hall of Fame

Story by David Sink of Little 500 Hall of Fame

A former Little 500 competitor, race promoter, car owner, and event photographer are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 23, part of Pay Less Little 500 Week. The Class of 2015 will be formally inducted at a luncheon at Anderson Speedway the afternoon of the 67th Pay Less Little 500 presented by UAW-GM.

The “Class of 2015” includes: Mike Bowman, Rick Dawson, Max Dolder, and Denny England.

Bowman, of Crawfordsville, Ind., is a car owner who has fielded 10 entries from 2004-14. His cars have completed 5,075 laps; earned two wins (2007 & 2010) with Eric Gordon, six top-three finishes and 844 laps led.

Dawson, of Pendleton, Ind., Current owner of Anderson Speedway. H has overseen race since acquiring track in 1997 and has been instrumental in bringing national television coverage to the race in recent years.

Dolder, of Tampa, Fla., is a veteran racing photographer who has been covering the race since 1985. His photos have appeared in several national publications including: Open Wheel Magazine, National Speed Sport News, Sprint Car & Midget Magazine, Hoseheads Sprint Car News and the Little 500 program.

England, of Warsaw, Ind., made 13 starts from 1992-2012 with two top five finishes including a runner-up in 1994. He also earned eight top-10 finishes, led 29 laps and completed 5,367 total laps.

The 26th annual Little 500 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place at Anderson Speedway on Saturday afternoon, May 23. Former Little 500 competitor Butch Wilkerson will serve as guest speaker. Seating is limited at this year’s luncheon, so advance tickets will be the only way to guarantee a seat. Please order your tickets as soon as possible by calling (765) 288-4587.